Rules Question: Rites

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Rules Question: Rites

Post by Virgil Vikos on Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:47 pm

Although I'm aware White Wolf contradicts itself, the Rites Background says, "Though it is not unheard of for a Garou elder to teach a student a very powerful rite(as Rank is not a necessary factor of rite progression), it would necessitate a very in-depth explanation."

I'm not trying to fight a ruling, but I am curious about the reasons behind the ST ruling that PC's not learn Intermediate rites before Adren.
avatar
Virgil Vikos

Posts : 885
Join date : 2010-08-25
Age : 31
Location : Ohio

View user profile http://imasupervillain.tumblr.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Question: Rites

Post by Misha on Thu Oct 27, 2011 2:44 pm

Look in the section under rank. It's contradictory! (Surprise surprise!)
avatar
Misha

Posts : 954
Join date : 2010-09-13

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Question: Rites

Post by Virgil Vikos on Thu Oct 27, 2011 3:02 pm

Virgil Vikos wrote:Although I'm aware White Wolf contradicts itself, the Rites Background says, "Though it is not unheard of for a Garou elder to teach a student a very powerful rite(as Rank is not a necessary factor of rite progression), it would necessitate a very in-depth explanation."

I'm not trying to fight a ruling, but I am curious about the reasons behind the ST ruling that PC's not learn Intermediate rites before Adren.

More asking for a clarification why this game takes one side of the conflicting ways presented in the book.

avatar
Virgil Vikos

Posts : 885
Join date : 2010-08-25
Age : 31
Location : Ohio

View user profile http://imasupervillain.tumblr.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Question: Rites

Post by Misha on Thu Oct 27, 2011 3:05 pm

Because that's related to taking the Rites background. That would support a cliath coming in with a Rites background of five, not a fostern learning an intermediate rite.
avatar
Misha

Posts : 954
Join date : 2010-09-13

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Question: Rites

Post by Virgil Vikos on Thu Oct 27, 2011 3:28 pm

If you followed those rules, a Cliath could come in with Gaia's Vengeful Teeth. The rites background is a combination of the starting levels of the rites and how many you have. It's a hold-over from Tabletop. So a Theurge starting with Rite of Summoning(lvl. 2) and Rite of Binding(lvl. 1), would be represented by a rites background of 3. Someone could start with Rite of the Fetish and the Rite of Cleansing if they put 4 points in the background. With ST discretion, of course.

I just think instead of ruling the idea out completely it could be ruled on in a case-by-case basis, and am curious why that's not the case.
avatar
Virgil Vikos

Posts : 885
Join date : 2010-08-25
Age : 31
Location : Ohio

View user profile http://imasupervillain.tumblr.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Question: Rites

Post by Griffin Defoe on Thu Oct 27, 2011 3:50 pm

I would object to a case-by-case handling. That leads to unfortunate disparities in the LARP-setting. It's the alleged basis for installing the recent house rules (or house rule revisions) to Mentor and fetish-creation, and this should be treated no differently.
avatar
Griffin Defoe

Posts : 1818
Join date : 2011-03-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Rules Question: Rites

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum