Questions on House Rules: Raging Back

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Questions on House Rules: Raging Back

Post by Griffin Defoe on Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:45 pm

Death (Garou; Kinfolk):
2. Garou -Raging Back -Follow the rules under Incapacitated (see #1). Additionally, you may expend a permanent rage for a retest in a Rage Back challenge. You may do this until you are out of Rage. If you expend your last Rage and fail the challenge you are d-e-a-d. Additionally if you expend your last Rage and win the challenge you may no longer buy Rage Tempers. However -your character will be alive! a. You may double your Rage versus this challenge.

Wat? Can anyone ask a more articulate question about the intention behind this house rule? I'm tired of seeing my own written arguments Neutral
avatar
Griffin Defoe

Posts : 1818
Join date : 2011-03-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions on House Rules: Raging Back

Post by Makes-Insides-Outside on Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:48 pm

Nah you keep going buddy. Twisted Evil
avatar
Makes-Insides-Outside

Posts : 1485
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 36
Location : Cleveland

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions on House Rules: Raging Back

Post by Makes-Insides-Outside on Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:14 pm

^ Just fucking with yah.

/activates articulate question mode

1. Has there been a circumstance that has caused a need to amend the currently published rule about raging back?

2. What is unclear about the rule already listed in the book?

3. Are any players abusing the rule about raging back or are we attempting to follow an org established trend?


Last edited by Makes-Insides-Outside on Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
avatar
Makes-Insides-Outside

Posts : 1485
Join date : 2011-06-06
Age : 36
Location : Cleveland

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions on House Rules: Raging Back

Post by Kiril Sokolov on Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:18 pm

I have a couple of questions on this one actually.

First, is there a reason for allowing so many retests? I've always been under the impression that Raging Back was supposed to be your last shot, and thus a really big deal. Letting people spend permanent Rage for multiple retests lessens both the threat of death and the impact or the Rage Back itself. Does it offer something that I'm missing?

Also, even if that mechanic stays, I'm very confused by the idea that Rage becomes permanently unavailable if you spend all of your permanents and survive. Is it to offer the option of retests while making it unappealing to use all of them? Would a character even be the viable within the Nation without the ability to shift?

Matt
avatar
Kiril Sokolov

Posts : 200
Join date : 2011-03-27

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions on House Rules: Raging Back

Post by Frost in His Hair on Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:19 pm

So, if you use your last rage to rage back, you can never buy rage again. That means that you lose the ability to shift forms (and fuel gifts that use rage).

I'm confused as to the spirit of this as well. Why would you lose the ability to purchase rage? Could you still gain temporary rage? Could you enter rage challenges (but be subject to losing on ties and begin over bid since you are bidding 0 effectively ). Can you no longer enter frenzy or are you still counted as having "a beast" ?

If not do you therefore essentially become a Gnostic Kinfolk, except that you register as Garou for sensing gifts and your trait caps are based on rank?


What is the spirit of this ruling and what about everything else I mentioned?
avatar
Frost in His Hair

Posts : 239
Join date : 2011-03-14
Age : 34

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions on House Rules: Raging Back

Post by ST Jonah on Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:22 pm

See Donald Glass if you want viability in the nation without Rage.

The option for the permanent rage is a flavor issue that we believe will help the story in the game.

As for permanently unable to buy back your rage - consider it simply this. You have permanently lost your wolf. It's hard enough when you spend tempers when it is only temporary to regain that rage.

End Result: House Rule in play. Non-Negotiable.
avatar
ST Jonah
Storyteller
Storyteller

Posts : 390
Join date : 2010-08-27
Location : The Echoes of Your Thoughts

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions on House Rules: Raging Back

Post by Griffin Defoe on Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:31 pm

There's no canonical example of a Garou fighting his way back from death by permanently giving up his Wolf. This rule suggests this legitimately can happen ad infinitum. It's a truly bizarre deviation from the book. I see this as creative, but excessively hyper-inventive.

You're right, though, you're the ST and they're your rules to put in play.
avatar
Griffin Defoe

Posts : 1818
Join date : 2011-03-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions on House Rules: Raging Back

Post by ST Jonah on Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:29 pm

You'll notice a bit of copy paste here Smile

We're looking to be more flavorful with our actions in raging back. This house rule we believe will assist with it. Moving from a one chop you're dead to a multiple retest but hard life afterwards could help with this. We are taking suggestions however so please feel free to make them here or e-mail us at the ST addy we use. As much crazy as we are, we're also looking to make the experience fun in the long run.
avatar
ST Jonah
Storyteller
Storyteller

Posts : 390
Join date : 2010-08-27
Location : The Echoes of Your Thoughts

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions on House Rules: Raging Back

Post by ST Jonah on Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:26 pm

Here we go. Compromise for the time being.

Garou - Raging Back - Follow the rules under Incapacitated (see #1). Additionally, you may expend a single permanent rage for a retest in a Rage Back challenge. If you expend your last Rage and fail the challenge you are d-e-a-d. Additionally if you expend your last Rage and win the challenge you may no longer buy Rage Tempers without an ST directly signing off on this expenditure. However - your character will be alive!


Changes:
1. Only permanent rage only on a rage back. You still get a retest but it's costly.
2. If this is your absolute last rage (as in you blew your Rage all over that combat except for one) and you spend it and lose the challenge, then consider yourself d-e-a-d.
3. If you succeed instead of fail and that was your final rage, then consider yourself blocked from buying tempers back until some crazy ass quest to find that piece of your wolf is done. Be prepared for story and plot with you as the main character.
avatar
ST Jonah
Storyteller
Storyteller

Posts : 390
Join date : 2010-08-27
Location : The Echoes of Your Thoughts

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions on House Rules: Raging Back

Post by Grip on Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:00 pm

Having had this exact thing happen to a PC of mine in another game (and I requested it, kind of), I will attest that it's an interesting and somewhat fun plot concept to explore.

Grip

Posts : 532
Join date : 2010-08-29
Age : 34

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions on House Rules: Raging Back

Post by Griffin Defoe on Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:05 pm

I'll admit, deviating from the book a bit for isolated cases and storylines can be fun...
avatar
Griffin Defoe

Posts : 1818
Join date : 2011-03-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions on House Rules: Raging Back

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum